Terms of Reference

1. Name

Oceanography Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (EDIA) Committee

2. Type

Standing committee

3. Purpose

The Committee will work to advance equity, diversity, inclusion, and accessibility (EDIA) in the Department of Oceanography by ensuring that Departmental processes and procedures adhere to recognized best practices in EDIA and the University's EDIA policy. Furthermore, the committee will lead initiatives aimed at improving all aspects of EDIA in the Department including, but not limited to, educational, self-reflective, and team-building workshops, development of guidelines for recruitment and retention of faculty from underrepresented groups, and strategies for increased recruitment of underrepresented students.

4. Scope

The following activities are within the Committee's scope:

- Advise and educate the Department about best practices in EDIA and the University's EDIA policy;
- Review TORs of standing Departmental Committees and Departmental Policies, and suggest new
 policies or changes to existing policies to ensure they follow best practices in EDIA and suggest
 appropriate changes;
- Liaise with the Curriculum Committee and the Graduate Studies Committee on efforts to increase EDIA in the undergraduate and graduate programs;
- Compile resources for faculty members on how to improve EDIA in their research and teaching activities;
- Organize presentation, discussions, workshops, and other activities around EDIA topics for the Department;
- Liaise with other EDIA-focussed committees in the Faculty of Science and the University.

5. Authority

The Committee acts in an advisory role and makes recommendations to Department members and the Department Chair.

6. Membership

The Committee consists of at least three faculty members who are appointed by the Department Chair, one Oceanography graduate student who is chosen by DOSA, and one Ocean Science undergraduate

student who is chosen by DOUGS. One of the faculty members is appointed by the Department Chair to serve as Chair of the Committee.

Current membership:

- Stephanie Kienast (Chair, faculty member)
- Eric Oliver (faculty member)
- Sarah Fortune (faculty member)
- Carly Buchwald (faculty member)
- Ruth Musgrave (faculty member)
- TBD (graduate student)
- TBD (undergraduate student)

7. Quorum and Voting

Committee recommendations should be reached by consensus (by at least three committee members). In cases where consensus cannot be reached, recommendations will be based on a majority vote of all members of the Committee who were involved in or are appraised of the deliberations (three at a minimum).

8. Meetings

Meetings will be called by notice of the Committee Chair, at a location agreed upon by the Committee. The Committee should meet at least quarterly, with additional meetings as needed to address emerging issues. Minutes are to be prepared by the Committee Chair or their designate.

9. Reporting

The Committee Chair or designate reports to the Department Chair after each meeting by email and includes the minutes. The Committee Chair or designate provides updates to the Department at the monthly faculty meetings.

10. Deliverables

The Committee is responsible for compiling EDIA resources and developing an EDIA plan for the Department. The due date for the latter document is August 2025.

11. Review

The ToR will be reviewed annually by the Department Chair. The date of the next review is August 2025.

2024-08-21 Katja Fennel