



DoM EXCELLENCE IN MEDICAL EDUCATION AWARD 2023

Description

Initiated in 2003, the DoM Excellence in Medical Education Awards (up to five in a given year) were created to acknowledge excellence in education among our departmental members, and to encourage their continued efforts in medical education.

Eligibility

- All Department of Medicine (DoM) physicians are eligible for this award.
- Award recipients cannot be re-nominated for three (3) years.
- Any member is invited to submit a nomination. Self nominations not eligible.

Criteria

Nominees must demonstrate at least one, or a combination of the following:

- Sustained medical education contributions at the undergraduate, postgraduate, continuing professional development, or graduate levels;
- Significant contribution to course development, implementation and evaluation;
- Development of educational innovations, which may include new technology;
- Contributions to the field of medical and graduate education through presentations and/or publications and research in medical education;
- Overall contributions to education at the departmental, faculty, institutional and national levels.

Process

Nomination packages must include:

- One nomination letter
 - Detail why this individual is deserving of this recognition. Provide specific examples and dates to support the nomination (max 2 pages).
 - Include the name and email address of a second supporting nominator. The committee may reach out to the supporting nominator for further information.

- Teaching dossier for the nominee:
 - o professional development record
 - accomplishments in medical education, including teaching, course development, educational innovations, new technology, resident or student evaluation, presentations or publication and research in medical education.
 - contributions to medical education at the departmental, faculty, institutional and national levels.
 - non-AFP members do not need to send in a teaching dossier; only a summary of their teaching history.
- Abbreviated current CV for the nominee.

Selection

The Department of Medicine Awards & Recognition Committee will select up to five recipients.

- At least 1 of the 5 awards will be granted to someone with specific contributions to the Undergraduate Program.
- At least 1 of the 5 awards will be granted to someone with specific contributions to the Postgrad program.
- At least 1 of the 5 awards will be granted to someone with specific contributions to Continuing Professional Development.

The Awards & Recognition Committee will determine the award recipient. The award will be presented at the annual awards event. Nominations will be kept for two years.

Deadline – May 1 annually

Email nomination package to the DoM Awards & Recognition Committee c/o: <u>anne.veinotte@nshealth.ca</u>

DoM EXCELLENCE IN MEDICAL EDUCATION AWARD

Past recipients

•		
2022	Styles, Kimberly	Cardiology
2021	Duke, Stephen	General Internal Medicine
2021	Kidwai, Bakhtiar	Cardiology
2021	Moeller, Andrew	Cardiology
2021	Murphy, Elana	Rheumatology
2020	Gray, Chris	Cardiology
2020	Houston, Simon	Respirology
2020	Keating, Mary-Margaret	Hematology
2020	Krueger-Naug, Anne Marie	Palliative Medicine
2019	Chiasson, Meredith	Respirology
2019	Gray, Samantha	Medical Oncology
2019	Tran, Allen	General Internal Medicine
2019	Williams, Stacey	Digestive Care & Endoscopy
2019	Younis, Tallal	Medical Oncology
2018	Koller, Katalin	Geriatric Medicine
2018	Ramjeesingh, Ravi	Medical Oncology
2018	Shetty, Nabha	General Internal Medicine
2017	Gorman Corsten, Erin	Palliative Medicine
2017	Gubitz, Gordon	Neurology
2017	Lamond, Nathan	Medical Oncology
2017	Taylor, Trudy	Rheumatology
2016	Haroon, Babar	General Internal Medicine
2016	Snow, Stephanie	Medical Oncology
2015	Connors, Lori	General Internal Medicine
2015	Epstein, Ian	Digestive Care & Endoscopy
2015	Jeyakumar, Alwin	Medical Oncology
2015	Kew, Andrea	Hematology
2015	Morrison, Debra	Respirology
2014	Gruchy, Steven	Digestive Care & Endoscopy
2014	Poyah, Penelope	Nephrology
2014	Ramer, Sarah	Cardiology
2013	Keough-Ryan, Tammy	Nephrology
2013	McParland, Colm	Respirology
2013	Sheridan, William	Cardiology
2013	Shivakumar, Sudeep	Hematology
2013	Williams, Geoff	Digestive Care & Endoscopy

2012	Beydoun, Hussein	Cardiology
2012	Dipchand, Christine	Nephrology
2012	Rebello, Rosario	General Internal Medicine
2012	Workman, Stephen	General Internal Medicine
2011	Hasegawa, Wanda	Hematology
2011	Hernandez, Paul	Respirology
2011	Simpson, David	General Internal Medicine
2010	Colwell, Bruce	Medical Oncology
2010	Gordon, Janet	Geriatric Medicine
2010	Grant, Ian	Neurology
2010	Jackson, Simon	Cardiology
2010	LindenSmith, Jorin	General Internal Medicine
2009	Farina, Dana	Digestive Care & Endoscopy
2009	Soroka, Steven D.	Nephrology
2009	Taylor, Trudy	Rheumatology
2009	White, Darrell	Hematology
2009	Wood, Lori	Medical Oncology
2008	Beed, Stephen	Critical Care
2008	Dupere, David	Palliative Medicine
2008	Green, Peter	Clinical Dermatology & Cutaneous Science
2008	Horton, Robert	Palliative Medicine
2007	Gallacher, William	Critical Care
2007	Gubitz, Gordon	Neurology
2007	Keough-Ryan, Tammy	Nephrology
2007	Mann, O. Elizabeth (Beth)	General Internal Medicine
2007	Shatshat, Souad	Rheumatology
2006	Bhan, Virender	Neurology
2006	Finkle, S. Neil	Nephrology
2006	Hanly, John G.	Rheumatology
2006	Langley, Richard G.B.	Clinical Dermatology & Cutaneous Science
2006	Mallery, Laurie	Geriatric Medicine
2005	Couban, Stephen	Hematology
2005	Dipchand, Christine	Nephrology
2005	Sutton, Evelyn	Rheumatology
2004	Morrison, Nancy J.	Respirology
2004	Patrick, Ward	Critical Care
2004	Sadler, R. Mark	Neurology
2003	Bakowsky, Volodko	Rheumatology
2003	Benstead, Timothy	Neurology
2003	Kells, Catherine	Cardiology
2003	Simpson, David	General Internal Medicine

2003

White, Darrell

Hematology