





Forward Together

DoM EXCELLENCE IN LEADERSHIP AWARD 2023

Description

Initiated in 2019, the DoM Excellence in Leadership Award will honor and recognize a physician who is an emerging or established leader who has made, or continues to make, significant, positive contributions to leadership and development in the DoM. This can be through clinical, research and/or education leadership roles.

Eligibility

- All Department of Medicine (DoM) physicians who have or have had a leadership role are eligible for this award.
- Award recipients cannot be re-nominated for three (3) years.
- Any member is invited to submit a nomination. Self nominations not eligible.

Criteria

Suggested information - please describe how the nominee demonstrates the following CanMEDS competencies. CanMEDS is a framework, trademarked by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, that identifies and describes the abilities physicians require to effectively meet the health care needs of the people they serve. These abilities are grouped under seven roles and the overarching goal is to improve patient care.

Leadership:

- Contribute to the improvement of health care delivery in teams, organizations, and systems
- Engage in the stewardship of health care resources
- Demonstrate leadership in professional practice
- Manage career planning, finances, and health human resources in a practice

Process

Nomination packages must include:

One nomination letter

- Detail why this individual is deserving of this recognition. Provide specific examples and dates to support the nomination (max 2 pages).
- o Include the name and email address of a second supporting nominator. The committee may reach out to the supporting nominator for further information.
- Abbreviated current CV for the nominee.

Selection

The Awards & Recognition Committee will determine the award recipient. The award will be presented at the annual awards event. Nominations will be kept for two years.

Deadline - May 1 annually

Email nomination package to the DoM Awards & Recognition Committee c/o: anne.veinotte@nshealth.ca

Dom excellence in leadership award

Past recipients

- 2022 Dr. Shelly McNeil, Division of Infectious Diseases
- 2021 Dr. Steven Gruchy, Division of Digestive Care & Endoscopy
- 2020 Dr. Chris MacKnight, Division of Geriatric Medicine
- 2019 Dr. Paige Moorhouse, Division of Geriatric Medicine