





# Forward Together

# DoM ACHIEVEMENT AWARD 2023

## **Description**

Initiated in 1987, the Department of Medicine Achievement Award is designed to recognize an individual's sustained, exceptional commitment to the mission of the Department, where "together, we advance patient care by fostering excellence in research and education".

#### Eligibility

- All Department of Medicine (DoM) physicians are eligible for this award.
- Award recipients cannot be re-nominated for three (3) years.
- Any member is invited to submit a nomination. Self nominations not eligible.

#### **Process**

Nomination packages must include:

- One nomination letter
  - Detail why this individual is deserving of this recognition. Provide specific examples and dates to support the nomination (max 2 pages).
- One letter of support
- Abbreviated current CV for the nominee.

#### Selection

The Awards & Recognition Committee will determine the award recipient. The award will be presented at the annual awards event. Nominations will be kept for two years.

# Deadline - May 1 annually

Email nomination package to the DoM Awards & Recognition Committee c/o: <a href="mailto:anne.veinotte@nshealth.ca">anne.veinotte@nshealth.ca</a>

# **DoM ACHIEVEMENT AWARD**

## Past recipients

- 2022 Dr. John Sapp, Division of Cardiology
- 2021 Dr. Laurie Mallery, Division of Geriatric Medicine
- 2020 Dr. Shelly McNeil, Division of Infectious Diseases
- 2019 Dr. Jorin LindenSmith, Division of General Internal Medicine
- 2018 Dr. Catherine Kells, Division of Cardiology
- 2017 Dr. Stephen Couban, Division of Hematology
- 2016 Dr. Evelyn Sutton, Division of Rheumatology
- 2015 Dr. Darrell White
- 2014 Dr. Simon Jackson
- 2013 Dr. David Simpson
- 2012 Dr. Nancy Morrison
- 2011 Dr. John Hanly
- 2010 Dr. Charles Maxner
- 2009 Dr. Kenneth Rockwood
- 2008 Dr. B. Lynn Johnston
- 2007 Dr. David R. Anderon
- 2006 Dr. Iqbal R. Bata
- 2005 Dr. Desmond J. Leddin
- 2004 Dr. O. Elizabeth Mann
- 2003 Dr. R. Allan Purdy
- 2002 Dr. David J. Hirsch
- 2001 Dr. G. Ross Langley
- 2000 Dr. Verinda Khanna
- 1999 Dr. J. Robert (Bob) Rae
- 1998 Dr. Walter F. Schlech
- 1997 Dr. Ormille A. Hayne
- 1996 Dr. J. Michael MacSween
- 1995 Dr. David E. Johnstone
- 1994 Dr. Joseph J. Sidorov
- 1993 Dr. Paul L. Landrigan
- 1992 Dr. R. Lee Kirby, Division of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
- 1991 Dr. Brian M. 'Spud' Chandler, Division of Cardiology
- 1990 Dr. Jean D. Gray, Division of General Internal Medicine
- 1989 Dr. Robert N. Anderson, Division of Cardiology
- 1988 Dr. Thomas J. Marrie, Division of Infectious Diseases
- 1987 Dr. Meng H. Tan, Division of Cardiology