





Forward Together

Dom Outstanding trainee award

Description

This award will be given annually to a resident who stands out from their peers in providing the highest quality patient care as part of an integrated interdisciplinary team.

Eligibility

- Department of Medicine specialty or subspecialty resident or fellow.
- Any member is invited to submit a nomination. Self nominations are not eligible.

Criteria

Nominees must demonstrate at least one, or a combination of the following criteria:.

- Excellent communication skills and interdisciplinary collaboration.
- Able to balance and prioritize the many demands while keeping patient care needs at the forefront.
- Excellent teacher as well as a motivated learner.
- Demonstrates an ability to remain calm under pressure and can multitask effectively without being distracted from the important task at hand.
- Knowledgeable and evidence-based with regard to clinical decision making, and yet demonstrate appropriate humility with families and other health care professionals.

Process

Nomination packages must include:

One nomination letter

- Detail why this individual is deserving of this recognition. Provide specific examples and dates to support the nomination (max 2 pages).
- o Include the name and email address of a second supporting nominator. The committee may reach out to the supporting nominator for further information.
- Abbreviated current CV for the nominee.

Selection

The Awards & Recognition Committee will determine the award recipient. The award will be presented at the annual awards event. Nominations will be kept for two years.

Deadline – Second Friday of May

Email nomination package to the DoM Awards & Recognition Committee c/o: <u>DoMEducation@nshealth.ca</u>

DOM OUTSTANDING TRAINEE AWARD

Past recipients

- 2024 Dr. Jacques van Wijk (PGY5 General Internal Medicine)
- 2023 Dr. Tommy Brothers (PGY5 General Internal Medicine)
- 2022 Dr. Whitney Faiella (PGY5 Cardiology)
- 2021 Dr. Eric Pond (PGY5 General Internal Medicine)
- 2021 Dr. Alexandra Legge (PGY5 Rheumatology)
- 2020 Dr. Scott Lee (PGY5 General Internal Medicine)
- 2020 Dr. Caitlin Jackson-Tarlton (PGY4 Neurology)

Note:

Award was renamed in 2023; changed from:

"DoM Outstanding Consultant Trainee Award" to "DoM Outstanding Trainee Award"