





Forward Together

BRIAN M. CHANDLER LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD IN MEDICAL EDUCATION 2023

Description

Initiated in 1999, the Brian M. Chandler Lifetime Achievement Award in Medical Education is presented to senior members of the Department of Medicine who have demonstrated leadership in education making significant contributions to teaching, learning and educational development beyond their role as a clinician and lecturer throughout their career.

Eligibility

- All Department of Medicine (DoM) physicians who have or have had a leadership role. The leadership role does not have to be a formerly named leadership position.
- Award recipients cannot be re-nominated for three (3) years.
- Any member is invited to submit a nomination. Self nominations not eligible.

Process

Nomination packages must include:

- One nomination letter
 - Detail why this individual is deserving of this recognition. Provide specific examples and dates to support the nomination (max 2 pages).
- One letter of support
- Abbreviated current CV for the nominee.

Selection

The Awards & Recognition Committee will determine the award recipient. The award will be presented at the annual awards event. Nominations will be kept for two years.

Deadline - May 1 annually

Email nomination package to the DoM Awards & Recognition Committee c/o: anne.veinotte@nshealth.ca

BRIAN M. CHANDLER LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD IN MEDICAL EDUCATION

Past recipients

- 2022 Dr. Igbal Bata, Division of Cardiology
- 2021 Dr. Catherine Kells, Division of Cardiology
- 2020 Dr. Nancy Morrison, Division of Respirology
- 2019 Dr. Stephen Couban (posthumously), Division of Hematology
- 2018 Dr. Eric Grant, Division of Rheumatology, Saint John
- 2017 Dr. David Simpson, Division of General Internal Medicine
- 2016 Dr. Geoffrey Turnbull, Division of Digestive Care & Endoscopy
- 2015 Dr. Martin Gardner, Division of Cardiology
- 2014 Dr. David Hirsch, Division of Nephrology
- 2013 Dr. David Haase, Division of Infectious Diseases
- 2012 Dr. Mahesh Raju, Division of General Internal Medicine, Saint John
- 2011 Dr. R. Allan Purdy, Division of Neurology
- 2010 Dr. Dennis Bowie, Division of Respirology
- 2009 Dr. O. Elizabeth Mann, Division of General Internal Medicine
- 2008 Dr. Siraj Ahmed, Division of Rheumatology
- 2007 Dr. Carl Abbott, Division of Endocrinology
- 2006 Dr. C. R. Tim Dean, Division of General Internal Medicine
- 2005 Dr. Ross Langley, Division of Hematology
- 2004 Dr. Ormille Hayne, Division of Hematology
- 2003 Dr. Ronald Tanton, Division Gastroenterology
- 2002 Dr. Irene Szuler, Division of General Internal Medicine
- 2001 Dr. Jean D. Gray, Division of General Internal Medicine
- 2000 Dr. Samuel E. (Sam) York, Division of Endocrinology
- 1999 Dr. Brian M. (Spud) Chandler, Divisiion of Cardiology