

Dalhousie University – Faculty of Medicine

FACULTY MEETING

Tuesday, June 7, 2022

MINUTES

Present: David Anderson (Dean), Karim Mukhida (Chair, Faculty Council) & 90 members of Faculty

FM 22 06 07 01 Call to Order

K. Mukhida, Chair of Faculty Council, called the meeting to order at 5:00 pm.

The agenda and minutes were approved as circulated (E. Sutton/ C. Umeshappa – motion carried).

FM 22 06 07 02 Report from Faculty Council (K. Mukhida)

K. Mukhida provided an overview of Faculty Council's activities as outlined in his written report, which was made available prior to the meeting. He also thanked all the members of Faculty Council for their many contributions to Faculty over the past year.

FM 22 06 07 03 Prop

Proposed Changes to Terms of Reference Brought Forward by Faculty Council (K. Mukhida)

3.1 Changes to Faculty Appeals Committee

K. Mukhida advised that the Faculty Appeals Committee has requested that the terms of reference be changed as outlined in the document circulated with the agenda. He provided a summary of the proposed revisions.

Motion: That Faculty approve the changes to the terms of reference for Faculty Appeals Committee as per the pre-circulated document (**R. Boulay/A. Rideout motion carried).**

3.2 Changes to Postgraduate Medical Education Committee

K. Mukhida advised that the Postgraduate Medical Education Committee has requested that the terms of reference be changed as outlined in the document circulated with the agenda. He provided a summary of the proposed revision.

Motion: That Faculty approve the changes to the terms of reference for Postgraduate Medical Education Committee as per the pre-circulated document (A. Warren/J. Hall; motion carried).

3.3 Changes to Admissions Committee

K. Mukhida advised that the Admissions Committee has requested that the terms of reference be changed as outlined in the document circulated with the agenda. He provided a summary of the proposed revisions.

Motion: That Faculty approve the changes to the terms of reference for Admissions Committee as per the pre-circulated document **(C. Short/G. Watson-Creed; motion carried).**

FM 22 06 07 04

Approval of Nominations for Faculty Council (Dr. E. Cowley, Member, Nominating Committee)

The Nominating Committee recommended to Faculty that the following faculty members be appointed to Faculty Council for a four-year term effective July 1, 2022:

Victoria Allen, Professor, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology Sarah Burm, Assistant Professor, CPDME Yassine El Hiani, Associate Professor, Department of Physiology & Biophysics Morgan Langille, Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology Abraham Rudnick, Professor, Department of Psychiatry

- 2 must be from basic science
- 3 from either basic science or clinical departments

E. Cowley asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, they called for a motion that the above faculty member nominations be approved to Faculty Council (B. Johnson/A. Quinn – Motion Carried).

FM 22 06 07 05

Approval of Nominations for Nominating Committee (K. Mukhida)

Faculty Council recommended to Faculty that the following faculty members be appointed to the Nominating Committee for a three-year term effective July 1, 2022.

Denis Dupre, Pharmacology Ketan Kulkarni, Pediatrics Paul Maloney, Pediatrics (DMNB) Carolyn Thomson, Family Medicine

K. Mukhida asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, they called for a motion that the above faculty member nominations be approved to Nominating Committee (A. Rideout/E. Denovan-Wright– Motion Carried).

FM 22 06 07 06 Strategic Plan Update (D. Anderson)

The Faculty of Medicine is in the process of refreshing its strategic plan #DalMedForward. The refreshed plan will contain four major pillars of activity — Education, Research, Serving & Engaging Society, and a new fourth pillar Valuing our People.

Over the past several months the Strategic Planning Oversight Committee has been gathering input from faculty, staff, learners, and stakeholders to better understand the unique perspectives and how we can better support you. The consultation process will include a faculty-wide survey, meetings with external stakeholders, departments, Faculty of Medicine standing committees, administrative leadership groups, research teams, and learner groups. Over the summer the results of these consultations will be analyzed with a plan to hold targeted focus groups and town halls before finalizing the plan in late 2022.

FM 22 06 07 07 Report from Dean

- D. Anderson acknowledged the work of all faculty, staff, students, and residents over the past year despite the challenges of COVID-19.
- D. Anderson referred faculty to the written reports of the Associate and Assistant Deans that are available for review on the Annual Faculty Meeting website.
- D. Anderson acknowledged the work of the following individuals whose terms are ending: Dr. Andrew Warren, Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education; Dr. Christy Simpson, Head, Department of Bioethics; Dr. Stephen Bearne, Head, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; Dr. William Baldridge, Head, Department of Medical Neuroscience.
- D. Anderson welcomed Dr. Babar Haroon who has been appointed as the new Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education and Dr. Tim Holland who has been appointed as the new Head of the Department of Bioethics.

FM 22 06 07 08 Presentation of Faculty Awards (D. Anderson)

- A. Warren congratulated the recipients of the 2022 Program Directors awards:
 - Innovation Category: Dr. Laurel Murphy, Department of Emergency Medicine
 - Leadership Category: Dr. Robyn Doucet, Department of Anesthesia
- D. Anderson congratulated the recipients of the 2022 Faculty Medicine Awards of Excellence:
 - Faculty of Medicine Early Career Educator Award: Dr. Adam Harris, Department of Emergency Medicine

- Faculty of Medicine Award of Excellence in Education: Dr. Stephanie Langley,
 Department of Family Medicine
- Faculty of Medicine Award for Early Career Award for Excellence in Clinical Practice: Dr. Jack Rasmussen, Department of Surgery
- Faculty of Medicine Award of Excellence in Clinical Practice: Dr. Conrad Fernandez, Department of Pediatrics
- Dr. Allan Cohen Memorial Award for Community Service: Dr. Selene Etches,
 Department of Psychiatry
- Faculty of Medicine Community Teacher of the Year Award: Dr. Hanni Bouma,
 Department of Medicine
- The Wayne Putnam Award: Dr. Suzanne Zinck , Department of Psychiatry
- Dr. John Savage Memorial Award for Faculty Leadership in Global Health: Dr. David Haase, Department of Medicine

FM 22 06 07 09 Recognition – Tenure and Promotion (D. Anderson)

D. Anderson congratulated faculty members who were promoted in 2022.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:17 p.m.