

# Dalhousie University – Faculty of Medicine

# FACULTY MEETING

# Tuesday, June 6, 2023

# MINUTES

Present:	David And	erson (Dean), Karim Mukhida (Chair, Faculty Council) & over 100 members of Faculty
FM 23 06 06 0	)1 Ca	ll to Order
	К.	Mukhida, Chair of Faculty Council, called the meeting to order at 5:13 pm.
		e agenda and minutes were approved as circulated <b>(S. Jackson / E. Sutton – motion</b> ried).
FM 23 06 06 0	)2 Re	port from Faculty Council (K. Mukhida)
	rep	Mukhida provided an overview of Faculty Council's activities as outlined in his written port, which was made available prior to the meeting. He also thanked all the members Faculty Council for their many contributions to Faculty over the past year.
FM 23 06 06 0	<b>М</b> и К.	oposed Changes to Terms of Reference Brought Forward by Faculty Council (K. ukhida) Mukhida provided a summary of the terms of reference that were brought to faculty uncil for review, as outlined in the document circulated with the agenda.
	3.1	L Changes to Continuing Professional Development and Medical Education Advisory Committee TOR
	3.2	2 Changes to Health Sciences Library Committee
	3.3	Changes to Postgraduate Medical Education Committee
	3.4	Changes to Undergraduate Medical Education Committee
	3.5	Changes to Research Advisory Committee
	3.6	5 Changes to Awards Committee
	3.7	7 Changes to Faculty Governance

	There was a question raised on the Faculty Governance amendment to equity deserving group representation on standing committees, and if there is a process to ensure the recommendation is implemented.
	Faculty Council will take the feedback received from faculty and review committee membership of EDIA groups.
	Motion: That Faculty approve the changes to the terms of reference. (A. Rideout/C. Slamovits; motion carried).
FM 23 06 06 04	Approval of Nominations for Faculty Council (Dr. Carolyn Thomson, Member, Nominating Committee)
	The Nominating Committee recommended to Faculty that the following faculty members be appointed to Faculty Council for a four-year term effective July 1, 2023:
	Dr. Simon Jackson, Department of Medicine Dr. Jean Marshall, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
	2 vacancies:
	<ul><li> 1 from clinical department</li><li> 1 from basic science department</li></ul>
	C. Thomson asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, they called for a motion that the above faculty member nominations be approved to Faculty Council <b>(E. Sutton/E. Cowley – Motion Carried)</b> .
FM 23 06 06 05	Approval of Nominations for Nominating Committee (K. Mukhida)
	Faculty Council recommended to Faculty that the following faculty members be appointed to the Nominating Committee for a three-year term effective July 1, 2023.
	Dr. Elizabeth Cowley, Department of Physiology & Biophysics Dr. Joseph Sadek, Department of Psychiatry
	K. Mukhida asked for nominations from the floor. Hearing none, they called for a motion that the above faculty member nominations be approved to Nominating Committee <b>(C. Slamovits/N. Thomas– Motion Carried)</b> .
FM 23 06 06 06	<b>Strategic Plan Update (D. Anderson)</b> D. Anderson provided an update of each priority area of the implementation of the strategic plan and the stream leads work overseeing the planning process into implementation.

Stream Lead Updates

### J. Hall, Education Implementation Activities

- Medical education program expansion
- Office of Professional Affairs, focus on learner environment
- Diversity strategies in BMedSci, graduate, undergraduate and postgraduate programs

#### E. Denovan-Wright, Research Implementation Activities

- Increase graduate student supports
- Support applications through Tri-Council funding
- New Scientific Advisory Committee to oversee CORES
- Work with Advancement, strengthen financial support

#### G. Watson-Creed, SES (Serving & Engaging Society) Implementation Activities

- EDIA leadership positions established
- Admission pathways for Black & Indigenous learners
- FEAR conference
- Launch of Dalhousie Office in Millbrook

### L. Penny, Valuing People Implementation Activities

- New Faculty Advisory Committee
- Renovation of Tupper Foyer
- Renew tenure and promotion criteria
- Develop onboarding and mentorship programs

## FM 23 06 06 07 Report from Dean

D. Anderson acknowledged the work of all faculty, staff, students, and residents over the past year.

D. Anderson referred faculty to the written reports of the Associate and Assistant Deans that are available and thanking the Associate and Assistant Deans for work done this past year.

D. Anderson acknowledged the work of the following individuals who will be stepping down from their roles:

Dr Rob Boulay, DMNB, Clerkship Program Lead; Dr. Jennifer Hall, DMNB, Associate Dean; Pam Burke, DMNB, Chief Operating Officer; Dr Marcelo Nicolela, Head of Ophthalmology; Dr. Ange Cooper, Assistant Dean for Wellness; Janice Godin, Executive Director of Operations.

D. Anderson welcomed

Dr. Amanda Caissie who has been appointed as the new Head of Radiation Oncology; Dr. Ian Epstein and Dr. Samantha Gray who have been appointed as the new Assistant Dean's for the Office of Professional Affairs;

Dr. Kevin Orell who has been appointed as the new Interim Associate Dean for Cape Breton Medical Campus;

Dr. Mike Clory who has been appointed as the new Assistant Dean of the new Physician's Assistant Program in development for 2024.

### FM 23 06 06 08 Presentation of Faculty Awards (D. Anderson)

D. Bowes congratulated the recipients of the 2023 Program Directors awards:

- Innovation Category: Dr. Ian Epstein, Department of Medicine, Digestive Care & Endoscopy
- Leadership Category: Dr. Gwynedd Pickett, Department of Surgery, Neurosurgery

D. Anderson congratulated the recipients of the 2023 Faculty of Medicine Awards of Excellence in Clinical Practice and Medical Education:

- Faculty of Medicine Award of Excellence in Teaching (PHD Faculty): Dr. John Rohde, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
- Faculty of Medicine Award of Excellence in Education: Dr. Mark Bosma, Department of Psychiatry
- Faculty of Medicine Early Career Education Award: Dr. Anuradha Mishra, Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
- Faculty of Medicine Award of Excellence in Clinical Practice: Dr. Liam Mulroy
- Faculty of Medicine Early Career Award of Excellence in Clinical Practice: Dr. David Wilson
- Faculty of Medicine Community Teacher of the Year Award: Dr. Christopher Martin, Department of Family Medicine, Miramichi
- Faculty of Medicine Community Teacher of the Year Award: Dr. Katharine Kellock, Department of Pediatrics, Sydney
- Dr. Allan Cohen Memorial Award for Community Service: Dr. Nicholas Giacomantonio, Department of Medicine
- Dr. R. Wayne Putnam Award: Dr. Sabina Abidi, Department of Psychiatry

E. Denovan-Wright congratulated the recipients of the 2023 Faculty of Medicine Research Awards:

- Faculty of Medicine Excellence in Basic Research Award: Dr. Jan Rainey, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
- Faculty of Medicine Early Career Investigator Award: Dr. Amy Trottier, Department of Medicine, Department of Pathology
- Faculty of Medicine Excellence in Clinical Research Award: Dr. Ratika Parkash
- Faculty of Medicine Award for Excellence in Research Mentorship of Trainees: Dr. Nikhil Thomas, Department of Medicine, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
- Faculty of Medicine Award for Excellence in Research Mentorship of Faculty: Dr. John Archibald, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

 Faculty of Medicine Award for Career Excellence in Research Mentorship: Dr. Roy Duncan, Department of Microbiology & Immunology, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology and Department of Pediatrics

## FM 23 06 06 09 Recognition – Tenure and Promotion (D. Anderson)

D. Anderson congratulated faculty members who were promoted in 2023.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:31 p.m.