

# Faculty of Medicine Awards for Excellence in Medical Research

#### INTRODUCTION

To acknowledge the considerable efforts and accomplishments of our faculty in the field of medical research, the following three annual Awards for Excellence in Medical Research have been established:

- The Faculty of Medicine Excellence in Basic Research Award recognizes outstanding contributions to basic science research within the Faculty of Medicine.
- The Faculty of Medicine Excellence in Clinical Research Award recognizes outstanding contributions to clinical research within the Faculty of Medicine.
- The Faculty of Medicine Early Career Investigator Award recognizes outstanding contributions to basic and/or clinical research during a faculty member's early career phase within the Faculty of Medicine.

#### **ELIGIBILITY**

All currently appointed faculty members within the Faculty of Medicine are eligible. Nominees for the early career award must be within the first five years of initial appointment to the level of Assistant Professor as of March 31, 2025. Recipients may only receive an Excellence in Medical Research award once.

#### **NOMINATION PROCESS**

Nominations must be made by the nominee's Department or Division Head. Departments/Divisions may make only 1 nomination per category per year and should select the most appropriate category for the nominee.

Nomination packages must contain:

- 1. A letter of nomination (maximum two pages) from the nominee's Department or Division Head describing:
  - The nominee's contributions to medical research at the departmental, faculty, institutional and national/international levels
  - o The nature and importance of the nominee's research to their department and faculty.

- 2. Nominee's abbreviated CV (maximum two pages), including details on career development, grants/contracts received, a list of five selected publications, and a record of trainee supervision. Full- length CVs will not be considered; please do **no**t include them in the nomination package.
- 3. One letter of support from a colleague, internal or external to Dalhousie, attesting to the importance of the nominee's research contributions

#### **REVIEW PROCESS**

- Completed applications must be submitted to the Faculty Medicine by March 14, 2025.
- All applications must be submitted as one PDF file.
- Applications can be submitted by clicking here.
- Incomplete applications or applications received after this date will not be considered.

Nominations will be screened for eligibility and completeness.

Members of the Faculty of Medicine Awards Committee will be invited to review the nominations. Reviewers will independently rank nominations based on the evaluation criteria. The evaluation and consensus-building processes are committed to the principles of EDIA.

If no suitable nominations are submitted, no award will be given. The review committee reserves the right to move nominees between categories if a nominee meets the criteria and no suitable nominations have been submitted.

#### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

A formal award announcement and presentation will be made at the Faculty of Medicine year-end meeting in June 2025. Award recipients will be notified by May 1, 2025.

#### PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS

#### 2024 Recipients

- Excellence in Basic Research Award Dr. Graham Dellaire
- Excellence in Clinical Research Award Dr. Rudolf Uher
- Early Career Investigatory Award Dr. Alexa Yakubovich

## 2023 Recipients

- Excellence in Basic Research Award Dr. Jan Rainey
- Excellence in Clinical Research Award Dr. Ratkia Parkash
- Early Career Investigator Award Dr. Amy Trottier

2 January 2025

# 2022 Recipients

- Excellence in Patient-Oriented Research Award Dr. Amanda Vinson
- Early Career Investigator Award Dr. Denys Khaperskyy

## 2021 Recipients

- Excellence in Basic Research Award Dr. Alex Quinn
- Excellence in Patient-Oriented Research Award Dr. Jennifer Jones
- Early Career Investigator Award Dr. Leah Cahill

## 2020 Recipients

- Excellence in Basic Research Award Dr. Jeanette Boudreau
- Excellence in Patient-Oriented Research Award Dr. Karthik Tennankore
- Early Career Investigator Award Dr. Alyson Kelvin

3 January 2025