

TERMS OF REFERENCE

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

FACULTY OF MEDICINE COMMUNITY TEACHER OF THE YEAR AWARD

INTRODUCTION

The Faculty of Medicine has created an award to recognize excellence in community-based teaching outside of a major academic centre (Halifax, NS and Saint John, NB).

ELIGIBILITY

Nominations will be considered for current faculty members who teach and practice in one the Faculty of Medicine's distributed teaching sites across the Maritimes (outside of Halifax and Saint John).

Faculty members who have been nominated will be retained on file for an additional 2 years for reconsideration.

NOMINATION PROCESS

The following documentation is required when making a nomination:

- 1. A letter of nomination, no longer than two pages, from the department/division head and/or distributed site coordinator/director. This letter should provide details of the nominee's professional development record including the following:
 - Describe in detail the nominee's teaching experience in a community setting.
 - Recognize the nominee's impact on learners and the learning environment in a community setting.
- 2. Up to two additional letters of support may be provided, one of which may be from a medical student, resident, or another health profession (e.g. nursing, physiotherapy, social work, etc.).
- 3. An abbreviated CV (not longer than two pages) providing details of the nominee's career development.

Full length CVs will not be considered; please do **not** include them with the nomination package. Please note that applications must be complete to be considered

SELECTION CRITERIA

The Faculty Awards Committee will select two award recipients - one will be awarded to a faculty member from the Department of Family Medicine and the other to a faculty member who holds an appointment in a clinical department (other than the Department of Family Medicine).

Nominations will be considered according to the following criteria:

- Sustained teaching experience at a community setting outside of Halifax or Saint John;
- Demonstrated ability to engage learners through a variety of teaching methods;
- Evidence of strong mentorship of learners in a community setting; and,
- Promotion of a positive learning environment for learners.

A distributed site may make only one nomination per year.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Recipients will be notified by May 1, 2025, and announced publicly at the Faculty of Medicine Annual Faculty Meeting in June 2025.

DEADLINE

Nomination packages should be combined into one PDF file and submitted <u>here</u>, no later than March 14, 2025.

Late submissions will not be considered.

The Faculty of Medicine Community Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

- 2024 Dr. Kendra Gilmore
- 2023 Dr. Katharine Kellock
- 2023 Dr. Christopher Martin
- 2022 Dr. Hanni Bouma
- 2021 Dr. Paul Kerr
- 2020 Dr. Brian Moses
- 2019 Dr. Alison Kelland
- 2018 Dr. Daniel Smyth
- 2017 Dr. Kara MacNeill