

R. Wayne Putnam Award for Outstanding Contributions to Community Continuing Professional Development

Nomination Guidelines

This award recognizes individuals who consistently make notable contributions to the continuing professional development of Maritime physicians. Those contributions could be in the form of teaching or organizing any form of continuing medical education program.

Considerations for nominations:

- Excellence in teaching
- Program development and implementation work
- Collaborative research in CPD
- Other activities that, in the view of the nominator, merit consideration given the purpose of the award

To nominate someone:

Please provide a letter detailing the types of activity for which the nominee should be recognized, addressing the following selection criteria:

- Length of time over which contributions have been made
- Quality, quantity, variety, and relevancy of CPD programs

Letters should be sufficiently detailed to stand alone in support of the nomination, as additional material will not be reviewed. The only exception is a summary of teaching evaluations, which may be appended to the letter to support nominations involving excellence in teaching.

Nominations can be submitted by email to awards.medicine@dal.ca. Nomination packages must be submitted in one single PDF file no later than March 14, 2025.

The recipient of this award will be announced publicly at the Faculty of Medicine Annual Faculty Meeting.

The Wayne Putnam Award Recipients

2024	Dr. Babar Haroon	2013	NS Senior's Mental Health Network
2023	Dr. Sabina Abidi	2012	Dr. James MacKillop
2022	Dr. Suzanne Zinck	2011	Dr. Kenrick R. Lacey
2021	Dr. Michael Allen	2010	Dr. Lynne Harrigan
2019	Dr. Dennis Klassen	2009	Dr. Stephen Soroka
2018	Dr. Robert Boulay	2008	Dr. Eric R. Gonza
2017	Dr. Blaine Kent	2007	Dr. David Berwick
2016	Dr. John Fraser	2006	Dr. Maureen Allen
2015	Dr. David Whitehorn	2005	Dr. Allan Abbass
2014	Dr. Marilyn MacKay-Lyons		