

DPMG Nominating Committee Report 2019-20

Submitted

Committee Membership:

• Chair: Amy McEvoy

• Members At Large: Curtis Clarke, Kate MacInnes

2019-20 Priorities:

- **Action:** Ensure Committee vacancies are filled and opportunities for involvement communicated to membership.
- Progress: Two positions on the Nominating Committee and one position as Member Outreach Sexton Campus became available mid-term due to staff leaving or changing availability. A
 midterm call for nominees took place in January and Curtis Clarke and Kate MacInnes were
 elected to the Nominating Committee while Kaitlin Burek was acclaimed as Member Outreach,
 Sexton.
- Action: Managing change on the committee and welcoming two new committee members.
- Progress: Committee is working on establishing team processes, goals for the year and distribution of workload.

2020-21 Elections:

- There were a total of 15 vacancies on the DPMG Executive and Standing Committees, as well as the University committees on which the DPMG is represented.
 - Fourteen of the vacancies were a result of members who had reached the end of their respective term limits. The majority of those who had responded to enquiries regarding their interest in being considered for a second term indicated they would not seek to do so.
 - The positions, available this spring were:

Executive:

- Treasurer 1 position, 2 year term
- Secretary 1 position, 2 year term

DPMG Committees:

- Communications 1 position, 2 year term
- Member Outreach 2 positions -one person from each of the Faculty of Agriculture and DMNB campuses, 2 year terms each
- Nominating 1 position, 2 year term
- Professional Development 2 positions, 2 year terms each

DPMG Representatives on University Committees:

- Employee Benefits 1 position, 2 year term
- Joint Occupational Health and Safety 1 position, 2 year term
- Job Evaluation and Appeals 3 positions, 3 year terms each
- Transportation & Security 1 position, 1 year term



- The results were as follows:
 - o Treasurer Katie Haigh, Faculty of Management
 - Secretary Carlina Gillis, Centre for Collaborative Clinical Learning and Research
 - Communications Fallon Bourgeois, Office of Advancement
 - Member Outreach:
 - Faculty of Agriculture Jafar Sadek
 - Dalhousie Medicine St John Stephanie Rutherford
 - Nominating
 - Amy McEvoy, Bissett Student Success Centre, Student Affairs
 - Personal & Professional Development
 - Yasir Abbas, ITS
 - Conor Falvey, Schulich School of Law
 - Gillian Reid, Faculty of Medicine
 - o Employee Benefits Jason Penney, Facilities Management
 - Job Evaluation and Appeals
 - Heather Fraser, ITS
 - Bob Mann, Dalhousie Senate
 - Marina Theriault, Facilities Management
 - o Joint Occupational Health & Safety Kathie Weadon, Athletics & Recreation
 - Transportation & Security Teresa Myra, SITE Co-Operative Education

Recommendations for 2020-21:

- Develop new opportunities for raising awareness of volunteer and committee involvement in DPMG.
- Update and develop Committee handbook and documentation, on shared drive.
- Work with the Communications Committee to find ways to tell DPMG members about the available opportunities to get involved.