

Faculty of Science

Nomination form for the Faculty of Science Award for Excellence in Teaching

Applications are to be submitted electronically using FileExchange

Forms are available on science website: http://www.dal.ca/faculty/science/faculty-and-staff/policies.html

Name of Candidate:
Department:
Name of faculty Sponsor:
(Must be a faculty member at least half time in the Faculty of Science)
Department:
Name of Other Sponsor:
(May be a faculty member, instructor, student, staff, alumnus or any friend of the Faculty)
Address:
Names and addresses of additional sponsors, if any, may be included on an attached sheet.
Citation. (Sponsors must provide here a citation of 60 to 80 words summarizing the case of the candidate for the award. This citation should be in a form suitable for reading when presenting the Award to winners.) Please attach Citation on a separate piece of paper.
Check list of documents included with nomination form.
 Obligatory: Confidential letter from each sponsor in support of candidate Up-to-date curriculum vitae of candidate Confidential letter of assessment from candidate's Chair Provide written input on the nominee's teaching ability, curriculum development and contribution of a pedagogical nature Citation (see above note)
 Optional: Statistical summary of results of student evaluation questionnaires Signed letters of appreciation from candidate's students or former students Copies of publications of a pedagogical nature (one copy of each; all such material will be returned to author) Published reviews of any textbook authorized by candidate Confidential letters from colleagues in support of candidate's nomination Descriptions of teaching innovations such as development of a new class or a new laboratory Other (specify)
Signature of Faculty Sponsor
Signature of Other Sponsor



Winners of the Faculty of Science Award for Excellence in Teaching

2017 Mike Young, Earth Sciences

2016 Jennifer Stamp, Psychology & Neuroscience

2015 Anne Marie Ryan, Earth Sciences

2014 Mark Johnston, Biology

2013 Paul Hill, Oceanography

2012 Ted Monchesky, Physics & Atmospheric Science

2011 Andrea Fraser, Mathematics & Statistics

2010 Peter Wentzell, Chemistry

2009 Neil Burford, Chemistry

2008 Jean Burnell, Chemistry

2007 Michael Bradfield, Economics

2006 Richard Brown, Psychology

2005 Robert Fournier, Oceanography

2004 Jeff Dahn, Physics & Atmospheric Science

2003 Vett Lloyd, Biology

2002 John Cordes, Physics & Atmospheric Science

2001 Stan Cameron, Chemistry

2000 Lou Ramaley, Chemistry

1999 Barry Paton, Physics & Atmospheric Science

1998 Melvin Calkin, Physics & Atmospheric Science

1997 Ken Dunn, Mathematics & Statistics

1996 Richard Nowakowski, Mathematics & Statistics

1995 Sampalli Srinivas, Mathematics & Statistics

1994 Thomas MacRae, Biology

1993 Mary Anne White, Chemistry

1992 Christopher Field, Mathematics & Statistics

1991 Phil Dunham, Psychology

1990 Patrick Stewart, Mathematics & Statistics